Once Perfect by Cecy Robson

Shattered Past, Book 1

Synopsis: His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy New Adult debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.

Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love.

Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid.

As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her.

Review: I’m not the biggest fan of NA and it’s true that I do not read much either so I may not be objective about this one. Yet when I found this novel by Cecy Robson, I knew that I had to try it. I must admit that nothing really appealed to me, but I have never been disappointed by the author, so I had to get into it. Have you read her Weird Girls series? I love it! But I can tell you something! I was not disappointed this time either. This is another genre that the author presents here and I think I can say that I was satisfied.

Mateo and Evelyn are two wounded souls by their past, even if we do not know about their story from the beginning, both bears a difficult burden. They both come from two different worlds but they end up in the same environment. Mateo is a nice boy, brave, willing to do anything for his family that has never had a real chance. But even trying to do the best, life has not been kind to him, and is still difficult in fact. It’s very touching to get to know and understand him. It is difficult to follow and accept all his choices, but at the same time we understand why he chose to do so. Sometimes there is no option to do otherwise. And then there is Evelyn … The two have worked together for several months, but an event will change their relationship and how they both see each other. It was very touching to see that they both had found someone, a person who shall be present for the other, and a natural person, full of goodness. No, their story is not easy, but they will do everything to get through the trials together. I was very touched by the history of two people wounded by life but they will try to rebuild something together.

I will talk a little more about Evelyn. Oh yes, this girl is a great character to explore. It is very difficult for her to get involved with someone but we’ll learn why and learn more about her… She has been through so much in her life and we find out a little more about her each time. Poor Evie … I can tell you that her story and Mateo’s shook my throat several times, made me tears to my eyes, but it was a great discovery for me. Cecy Robson has perfectly shared the characters’ feelings with her readers and I was really blown away by the whole story. The meeting of two broken souls who will tame to try to become something more and create something they never had.

So yes it is true that I am very happy to have had the opportunity to discover this novel and I hope the author will continue in this register because I am curious to read more. It was a great discovery for me.

4

mellianefini

 

31 thoughts on “Once Perfect by Cecy Robson

  1. I’m not much of a NA reader myself, Melliane. But I must admit that any characters who fights underground MMA style will always pique my interest. 🙂 I’m glad you loved this one. I’m definitely going to give it a go.

  2. I’m so glad you enjoyed Once Perfect, Melliane! It’s wonderful when an author can transform a genre into something new and enjoyable for you, and it sounds like that’s just what Cecy did. I think this one is a must for me as well. Lovely review 🙂

  3. Yeah, I’m not much of a NA fan either, I think I’ve read one. I do love when there’s characters you shouldn’t like by their choices and what they do, but you still end up loving them, because yeah, maybe you don’t like their choices, but if you can understand them, then It doesn’t bother me. Glad you enjoyed this one, especially since it’s outside your usual. 🙂

  4. NA is such a hit or miss genre for me, but this sounds fantastic. I haven’t read the Weird Girls series but have heard amazing things bout it and Cecy as an author, so I definitely want to give this one a try. I’ll make sure I have some tissues nearby though:)

  5. I know what you mean about NA. I am not a fan either, but I still enjoyed this one. Robson did a great job with the characters and I liked the story. I just wish that it had been more original, still I will read the next book.

  6. NA’s not really my thing either, but a few author’s whose PNR/UF that I like have been putting it out, so I gave it a shot . . . and wasn’t to thrilled with the results. This wasn’t one of them, and I’m glad it worked out better for you–I’ll definitely keep an eye on it 😉 Thanks for sharing!

  7. I know Cecy never disappoints, but I passed on this one. I was so swamped and life was starting to get crazy. And it’s not really a genre I read either. But it does sound amazing.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.