Poison by Sarah Pinborough

Tales from the Kingdoms, Book 1

Synopsis: A beautiful, sexy, contemporary retelling of the classic Snow White fairy tale, illustrated by Les Edwards.

Poison is a beautifully illustrated retelling of the Snow White story which takes all the elements of the classic fairy tale that we love (the handsome prince, the jealous queen, the beautiful girl and, of course, the poisoning) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. It’s fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of Once Upon a Time, Grimm, Snow White and the Huntsman and more.

Synopsis: A friend gave me this book a long time ago but it is true that it took me a lot of time to immerse myself in the history. Many things made me want to try this novel from the start, first of all the French cover that because I have to say that it is truly sublime but also the summary which mixed fairytales (something I love) and some original ideas of the author! But it is also why we have great expectations for the story. However I remembered seeing some very different reviews about it and it’s true that I was curious to see what feeling I would get at the end.

So we follow here a Snow white like no one else. I was quickly intrigued by the originality and the ideas used here to see what the author would bring to the story. The character I was the most attracted to remains the queen. She is full of complexity, nasty, greedy, jealousy and yet she also regrets her actions even if it does not change her final goal. It’s quite difficult to identify or finally to hate her as much as we hate the original character we all know. And then we have Snow White … we feel the love that everyone has for her, her desire to do her best and at the same time I struggled to recognize her in some part of the novel or to connect to her. I think that’s what bothered me the most in this novel, this means the changes in the attitudes of the charactersin an instant. This means that we find another person without understanding what could have happened. I can take the example of S.W. who is the image of the innocent girl, naive and who after a night of love (well if you can call it that) is supposedly the most experienced girl. I do not know but for me it was struggling. But this is only one example that proliferates in the book and in the end I felt like I was reading passages which contrasted with the rest of the story. This is quite disturbing and I found it very surprising and confusing. So we go from one thing to another very quickly while we were having a pretty good time. Besides for this, one thing is sure, I didn’t expect that and the events are always surprising and surreal.

In short you will understand, something bothered me here and I had the impression that the characters had different personalities. I’m not sure I’ll read more.



23 thoughts on “Poison by Sarah Pinborough

  1. Sorry this one didn’t work out for you, it seemed quite interesting but from your review I think I may have the same issues :-/
    Hope your current read is a great one!

  2. Although I love retellings, just reading the synopsis has me not wanting to read this. Don’t get me wrong, I love Grimm, Once Upon A Time, and all things SW and the Huntsman, but this is exactly the turn off for me with this book. It screams confusion.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *